social group - True people
Home / Wonders / Bio Stats / Olympics Heroes / Viswanathan Anand

Viswanathan Anand

Viswanathan Anand

Viswanathan "Vishy" Anand (born 11 December 1969) is an Indian chess Grandmaster and former World Chess Champion.

He held the FIDE World Chess Championship from 2000 to 2002, at a time when the world title was split. He became the undisputed World Champion in 2007 and defended his title against Vladimir Kramnik in 2008. He then defended his title in the World Chess Championship 2010 against Veselin Topalov and in the World Chess Championship 2012 against Boris Gelfand. In the World Chess Championship 2013 he lost to challenger Magnus Carlsen and he lost again to Carlsen in the World Chess Championship 2014.

Anand is one of eight players in history to pass 2800 Elo on the FIDE rating list. He occupied the number one position for 21 months, the 6th longest on record.

Anand became India's first grandmaster in 1988.[6] He was also the first recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 1991–92, India's highest sporting honour. In 2007, he was awarded India's second highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan, making him the first sports person to receive the award.




1989 2nd Asian Active Chess Championship, Hong Kong 1st

1994 Melody Amber Tournament, Monaco 1st

1994 PCA Grand Prix (Rapid), Moscow 1st

1996 Credit Swiss Rapid Chess Grand Prix, Geneva 1st

1996 Torneo Magistral de Ajedrez, Leon

1997 Melody Amber Tournament, Monaco 1st

1997 Chess Classic Rapid Tournament, Frankfurt

1998 Torneo Magitral Communidad De Madrid, Madrid 1st

1998 Siemens Nixdorf Duell (Rapid), Frankfurt 1st

1999 Wydra Memorial Chess (Rapid), Haifa 1st

1999 Torneo Magistral de Ajedrez, Leon beat Karpov 5–1

2000 Wydra International Tournament (Rapid), Haifa 1st

2000 Torneo Magistral de Ajedrez, Leon beat Shirov 1½–½

2000 Fujitsu Siemens Giants Chess (Rapid), Frankfurt 1st

2000 Corsica Masters (Rapid), Corsica 1st

2002 Eurotel (Combined Rapid plus Classical), Prague 1st

2011 Botvinnik Memorial, Moscow, 1st

2011 Corsica Masters Knockout (Rapid), Corsica 1st




1986 Arab-Asian International Chess Championship, Doha 1st

1987 Sakthi Finance Grandmasters Chess Tournament, Coimbatore 1st

1989 51st Hoogovens Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee 1st

1990 Asian Zonal Tournament, Qatar

1990 Manchester Chess Festival, Manchester 1st

1990 Triveni Super Grandmasters Tournament, Delhi Joint 1st

1992 Reggio Emilia Chess Tournament, Reggio Emilia 1st

1992 Goodrich Open International Tournament, Calcutta 1st

1992 Alekhine Memorial, Moscow 1st

1993 PCA Interzonal, Groningen 1st

1996 Dortmunder Schachtage, Dortmund (joint 1st with Kramnik)

1997 Torneo de Ajedrex, Dos Hermanas 1st

1997 Invesbanka Chess tournament, Belgrade 1st

1997 Credit Suisse Classic Tournament, Biel 1st

1998 60th Hoogoven's Schaak Tornoi, Wijk aan Zee 1st

1998 Torneo International De Ajedrez, Linares 1st

1998 Fontys-Tilburg International Chess Tournament 1st

2003 65th Corus Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee 1st

2004 66th Corus Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee 1st

2006 68th Corus Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee 1st

2007 Linares Chess Tournament, Linares 1st

2007 FIDE World Championship Tournament, Mexico City 1st

2008 Linares Chess Tournament, Linares 1st

2013 Grenke Chess Classic, Baden Baden 1st

2014 Candidates Tournament, Khanty Mansiysk 1st

2014 Bilbao Chess Masters Final 1st

2014 London Chess Classic, London 1st

2015 Zurich Chess Challenge (classical section), Zurich 1st




1991 World Chess Championship Candidates, Madras, Brussels Quarter-finalist

1992 Linares match Anand vs Vassily Ivanchuk 5–3

1994-5 PCA World Championship Candidates Cycle, Linares, Las Palmas won

1997 Aegon Man vs Computers chess event (clock simultan vs 6 programs) won 4–2






Arjuna Award for Outstanding Indian Sportsman in Chess in 1985.

Padma Shri – Fourth highest civilian award awarded by Government of India in 1987.

The inaugural Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, India's highest sporting honour in the years 1991–1992.

Padma Bhushan – Third highest civilian award awarded by Government of India in 2000.

Padma Vibhushan – Second highest civilian award awarded by Government of India in 2007.




National Citizens Award and Soviet Land Nehru Award in 1987

British Chess Federation "Book of the Year" Award in 1998 for his book My Best Games of Chess.

Jameo de Oro the highest honour given by the Government of Lanzarote in Spain on 25 April 2001. The award is given to illustrious personalities with extraordinary achievements.

Anand has won the Chess Oscar in 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2007 and 2008. The Chess Oscar is awarded to the year's best player according to a worldwide poll of leading chess critics, writers, and journalists conducted by the Russian chess magazine 64.

Sportstar Millennium Award in 1998, from India's premier Sports magazine for being the sportperson of the millennium.

"Global Strategist Award" for Mastering many formats of World Chess Championships by NASSCOM in 2011.

Tamil Nadu chief minister J. Jayalalithaa honoured Anand with a cheque of Rs 2 crores, for winning the World Chess Championship for the fifth time.

In 2012, he received the "Indian sportsperson of the year" and "Indian of the year" awards.

In 2014 Anand was awarded the Russian Order of Friendship for the development of economic, scientific and cultural ties with Russia. The Order of Friendship was awarded to Viswanathan Anand and Boris Gelfand, the participants in the FIDE World Chess Championship Match that was held at the State Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow in 2012.

In 2015 Anand was honoured with the top country award at the Spanish embassy,Delhi on January 8.It is given to the eminent people of Indian origin who helped to bring glory to both India and Spain.